
    

 

 
  
 

 
 

 

  

 

   

 
  

      

         

 

  

                  

       
  

  
     
     

  
    

  
     

      
   

  
     

  
  

  

    

 

 
     

     
 

      
    

   
    

   
  

 
    

  
  

   
 

   

   

 

 

 

 

  

E OF THE CODE REVISER 
STATE OF WASHIINGTON 

FIILED 

DATE: November 115,1, 20211 
TIME: 5,:118 PM 

WSR 21-23-078 

RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

CR-103P (October 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 

Agency: Office of the Insurance Commissioner 

Effective date of rule: 
Permanent Rules 

☐ 31 days after filing. 

☒ Other (specify) December 21, 2021 (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is 

required and should be stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 

☐ Yes ☒ No If Yes, explain: 

Purpose: The Act relating to Captive Insurance (2SSB 5315) has become effective as law (Chapter 48.201 RCW). This law 
establishes statutory framework for Washington-based private entities and public institutions of higher education to manage 
their risks through captive insurers, which will require proper regulation and taxation by the Office of the Insurance 
Commissioner (OIC). This law also authorizes OIC rulemaking to incorporate the statutory framework and requirements for 
Captive Insurance into the Washington Administrative Code, along with implementation processes, clarifications, and 
regulatory guidance. 
The anticipated effects of the rulemaking relate to determining eligibility of captive insurers, registering and renewing eligible 
captive insurers, enforcement, and collecting associated taxes, registration fees, and annual renewal fees from captive 
insurers that are licensed by their domicile jurisdictions and insure Washington-based entities. 
These rules will facilitate implementation of Captive Insurance by ensuring that all affected entities understand their rights and 
obligations under the new law. 

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New: Chapter 284-201 WAC 
Repealed: 
Amended: 
Suspended: 

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 48.02.060(3)(a) and RCW 48.201.060. 

Other authority: -

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 21-20-093 on October 1, 2021 (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: The proposed captive insurance regulations 
outline insurance limitations, where captive insurers are unable to provide workers compensation, unless under certain 
parameters in WAC 284-201-230(1)(b). Feedback received in response to the proposed rulemaking (CR-102) suggested 
that the rules be revised to include ‘state’ in front of workers compensation insurance, so as to make it clear this limitation 
is a state or jurisdiction limit for Washington, and not for US L&H coverage. Captives covering Washington risk cannot 
provide Washington State workers compensation directly under Title 51 RCW. The requested revision attempts to achieve 
that which the rule was drafted for, limiting captive insurers from providing workers compensation insurance in 
Washington, unless done properly through US L&H coverage and not under Title 51 RCW. Therefore, the rule received a 
minor technical revision, which clarifies that “Captive insurers may not provide workers compensation coverage subject to 
Title 51 RCW that directly covers the worker. Captive insurers may indemnify a self-insured employer for their state 
workers' compensation liability.” (WAC 284-201-230(1)(b)). This change is within the general subject matter of the 
proposed rule (RCW 34.05.340). 
If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name: Michael Walker, Policy Analyst 

Address: 302 Sid Snyder Ave., Olympia, WA 98504 

Phone: 360-725-7036 

Fax: 360-586-3109 

TTY: 360-586-0241 

Email: RulesCoordinator@oic.wa.gov 

Web site: OIC.WA.GOV 
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Note: If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 
A section may be counted in more than one category. 

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

Federal statute: New Amended Repealed 

Federal rules or standards: New Amended Repealed 

Recently enacted state statutes: New 11 Amended Repealed 

The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 

New Amended Repealed 

The number of sections adopted on the agency’s own initiative: 

New Amended Repealed 

The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 

New Amended Repealed 

The number of sections adopted using: 

Negotiated rule making: New Amended Repealed 

Pilot rule making: New Amended Repealed 

Other alternative rule making: New Amended Repealed 

Date Adopted: November 15, 2021 Signature: 

Name: Mike Kreidler 

Title: Insurance Commissioner 
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Chapter 284-201 WAC 
CAPTIVE INSURANCE 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-110 Purpose. These regulations implement captive
insurance (chapter 48.201 RCW) including, but not limited to, the pro-
cesses and procedures for regulation and taxation of captive insurers 
by the office of the insurance commissioner (commissioner). 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-120 Applicability and scope. This chapter applies
to eligible captive insurers as defined in chapter 48.201 RCW, except
for risk retention groups that must register pursuant to chapter 48.92 
RCW and captive insurers that solely place insurance through a surplus
line broker pursuant to chapter 48.15 RCW. 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-130 Definitions. The definitions in RCW 48.201.020,
apply in this regulation unless otherwise specified or unless the con-
text clearly requires otherwise. The following definitions apply to 
this chapter and to chapter 48.201 RCW:

(1) "Captive insurer" means an entity that is wholly or partially
owned by a "captive owner" and it insures risks of the captive owner,
the captive owner's other affiliates, or both.

(2) "Eligible captive insurer" has the same meaning as set forth 
in chapter 48.201 RCW.

(3) "Insurer" has the same meaning as set forth in RCW 48.01.050.
(4) "Principal place of business" refers to the place where a 

business entity's management direct, control, and coordinate the cor-
poration's activities, i.e., its "nerve center," which will typically
be found at its corporate headquarters. Except where the parent corpo-
ration is the alter ego of the subsidiary, subsidiaries are analyzed
separately from their parent or holding companies. For example, if a 
captive insurer insures a subsidiary that is headquartered in Washing-
ton, then this state would be the principal place of business for the 
insured subsidiary, even if the parent company was headquartered else-
where. 

(5) "Registered eligible captive insurer" means an eligible cap-
tive insurer who submitted an application that was approved by the 
commissioner. A registered eligible captive insurer that fails to 
properly renew its registration will no longer be considered regis-
tered under chapter 48.201 RCW.

(6) "Reinsurance" means a form of insurance issued to insurers. 
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(7) "Reinsurer" means an insurer that assumes all or part of an 
insurance or reinsurance policy written by the ceding insurer. 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-140 Computation of time. In computing any period of 
time prescribed by this rule, the commissioner:

(1) Will not count the first day; and
(2) Will count the next and last day, unless either is a weekend 

or a state legal holiday. 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-150 Severability. If any provision of this chapter
or its application to any person or circumstances is held invalid, the 
remainder of the chapter or its application of the provision to other 
persons or circumstances is not affected. 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-210 Registration. (1) Eligible captive insurers 
must register with the commissioner within 120 days of May 12, 2021, 
or if later, within 120 days after first issuing a policy that covers 
Washington risks.

(2) The registration period for eligible captive insurers will be 
from the date the registration is approved by the commissioner,
through June 30th.

(3) The commissioner may request and the eligible captive insurer 
must provide additional documentation and information to show regis-
tration requirements have been met.

(4) The registration fee is $2,500.00.
(5) The commissioner will approve an eligible captive insurer's 

registration, if the commissioner determines that it meets the eligi-
bility requirements in chapter 48.201 RCW, and this section. 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-220 Renewal. (1) To maintain registration, a regis-
tered eligible captive insurer must renew certificates of registration
annually by June 30th. If an eligible captive insurer fails to proper-
ly renew their certificate of registration, then its registration will 
expire at the end of its registration period.

(2) The renewal process will require that a registered eligible
captive insurer continue to meet eligibility requirements in accord-
ance with RCW 48.201.020 and 48.201.030, and pay a renewal fee. 
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(3) For renewal, the commissioner will charge an annual renewal 
fee not to exceed $2,500.00. The amount of the renewal fee will be 
published on the commissioner's website and must be paid by June 30th.

(4) The renewal period will be from July 1st through June 30th.
(5) In order to obtain a timely annual renewal, a registered eli-

gible captive insurer should file the renewal application no later 
than April 1st. Otherwise, OIC may not approve the eligible captive
insurer's renewal before the June 30th expiration date and the eligi-
ble captive insurer's registration will expire. If an eligible captive 
insurer's registration expires, it will then need to complete and file 
a new application and pay the fee for a new registration. 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-230 Insurance limitations. (1) For Washington
risks, a registered eligible captive insurer may provide only property 
and casualty insurance, and may provide such insurance to only a cap-
tive owner, to the captive owner's other affiliates, or both, unless 
it places the insurance through a surplus lines broker pursuant to 
chapter 48.15 RCW.

(a) A registered eligible captive insurer may not provide stop
loss insurance as defined in RCW 48.11.030 or 48.21.015. 

(b) A registered eligible captive insurer may not provide work-
ers' compensation coverage subject to Title 51 RCW that directly cov-
ers the worker. A registered eligible captive insurer may indemnify a 
self-insured employer for their state workers' compensation liability.

(2) A registered eligible captive insurer may assume risks from 
other insurers as a reinsurer without regard to the limitations in 
subsection (1) of this section. 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-240 Taxes. (1) A registered eligible captive insur-
er shall on or before the first day of March of each year pay to the 
state treasurer through the commissioner's office a two percent tax on 
premiums for insurance directly procured by and provided to its parent
or another affiliate for Washington risks during the previous calendar 
year. A registered eligible captive insurer that fails to remit the 
tax by the last day of the month in which the tax becomes due, will be 
subject to the tax, penalties, and interest provided in RCW 48.14.060.

(2) A registered eligible captive insurer shall file with the 
commissioner a statement of premiums on a tax form furnished by the 
commissioner. For tax purposes, the reporting of premiums shall be on 
a written basis. 

(3) Instructions for accessing the online tax forms will be sent 
out to the registered eligible captive insurer's tax contact in Janu-
ary of each year. Tax contact information is provided to the commis-
sioner as part of the registration process.

(4) The registered eligible captive insurer must share its meth-
odology and relevant analysis in determining its Washington risks al-
location by submitting this information to the commissioner by April 
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1st of each year, in a method as prescribed and furnished by the com-
missioner. 

(5) Prior period taxes. Eligible captive insurers who insured 
Washington risk for any period after January 1, 2011, must remit a two 
percent tax on premiums for insurance directly procured by and provi-
ded to its parent or another affiliate for Washington risks, if not 
previously remitted to the commissioner. The reporting of premiums un-
der this section shall be on a written basis, in a method as prescri-
bed and furnished by the commissioner. Taxes due for premiums procured 
prior to January 1, 2021, are not subject to the penalties or interest 
provided in RCW 48.14.060.

(6) Eligible captive insurers must pay premium tax for Washington
risks covered by all types of insurance, including premiums collected 
for insurance that is not property or casualty insurance, if the eli-
gible captive insurer provided such coverage for any period after Jan-
uary 1, 2011. 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-250 Administration. (1) The commissioner is author-
ized to make use of any of the powers established under Title 48 RCW 
to enforce the laws of this state. This includes, but is not limited 
to, the commissioner's administrative authority to investigate, issue 
subpoenas, conduct depositions and hearings, issue orders, impose pen-
alties, and seek injunctive relief. Regarding any investigation, ad-
ministrative proceedings, or litigation, the commissioner can rely on 
the procedural laws and regulations of the state.

(2) Fines and penalties.
(a) An eligible captive insurer that fails to register or main-

tain registration under this chapter or chapter 48.92 RCW is acting as 
an unlawful, unauthorized insurer, as set forth in RCW 48.15.020 and 
is subject to the fines and penalties under RCW 48.15.023, taxation 
under RCW 48.14.095 and penalties and interest under RCW 48.14.060.

(b) Captive insurers that have insured risks in Washington but 
are not eligible to register with the commissioner, continue to be 
subject to RCW 48.15.020, 48.15.023, 48.14.020, 48.14.060, and 
48.14.095. 

(c) A registered eligible captive insurer that violates any pro-
vision of this chapter will be subject to the fines and penalties ap-
plicable to authorized insurers generally, as set forth in chapter
48.05 RCW, including revocation of its registration, suspension of 
registration, and refusal to renew registration.

(d) The commissioner may deny the registration or renewal of a 
captive insurer who the commissioner has determined failed to suffi-
ciently demonstrate the requirements outlined in RCW 48.201.020 and 
48.201.030, and this chapter. 

NEW SECTION 

WAC 284-201-300 Adjudicative proceedings. (1) Captive insurers 
may demand a hearing with the commissioner by submitting a request for 
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an adjudicative proceeding in accordance with WAC 284-02-070 and RCW 
48.04.010. 

(2) General procedural and substantive requirements for adjudica-
tive proceedings are contained in WAC 284-02-070, chapters 48.04 and 
34.05 RCW. 
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